This is the "Choctaw Indians Database Research" page of the "Mr. McClave's US History: Native American Tribes : Choctaw Tribe" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mr. McClave's US History: Native American Tribes : Choctaw Tribe  

Last Updated: Sep 28, 2011 URL: http://loyolahs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=170006 Print Guide RSS Updates

Choctaw Indians Database Research Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in Our Library

Use the following Book Titles with call numbers or you can try your own search of our Online Catalog:

https://loyolahsburns.follettdestiny.com/

North American indians / - Oxford University Press: Very Short Introduction series.
Call Number: VSI 243
Publication Date: 2010

American Indian removal and the trail to Wounded Knee / - by Kevin Hilstrom.
Call Number: 973.8 HIL
Publication Date: 2010.

The American Indian : prehistory to present / - Arrell m. Gibson.
Call Number: 970 GIB

and Many More in the 970 call number range.

Use "Son of Citation Machine" to cite ALL Sources

Database Research

1.  The database passwords can be found by logging into Cubview, go to Burns Library group page at  http://cubview.loyolahs.edu/pg/groups/143509/fritz-b-burns-library/   "Group Files."  While you are at it, join our group!

  • ABC-Clio Social Studies
    1. Log in (remember you have to be logged into Cubview to see the passwords.
    2. In the "Quick Search" box, enter your tribe's name. For example, I entered "Choctaw."
  • Ebsco Database
    Do the same search for your tribe in the Find or Search line. This database searches reference materials, primary documents and magazine/journals.
  • InfoPlease American Indian Nations
  • Facts On File Almanac & Encyclopedia
    Try these for more facts about your tribe. Articles may or may not be very in-depth; but they might be useful. Click on the World News Digest to see the Almanac & Encyclopedia.
 

Results from ABC-Clio Search on Choctaw

Choctaw
"Choctaw" was originally Chahta. An early name for the tribe might have been Pafallaya, or "long hair."
Entry Type: Articles - Groups & Organizations
Related Eras: Exploration, 1350-1550, The West, 1850-1900, The Civil War, 1861-1865, Westward Expansion, 1790-1850
Choctaw Indians: lacrosse game
Painting of Choctaw Indians playing an early version of lacrosse.
Entry Type: Media, Visuals, & Maps - Images
Related Eras: Westward Expansion, 1790-1850
Pushmahata
A brave warrior, an impressive orator, and a skilled negotiator, Pushmahata effectively represented his people during a time of
increasing white encroachment.
Entry Type: Articles - Individuals
Related Eras: Political Life in a New Nation, 1800-1830
Native American Treaties with the United States, 1778–1904
Table lists by year the major treaties set forth by the U.S. government with Native Americans.
Entry Type: General - Facts & Figures
Related Eras: The West, 1850-1900, The Constitution, 1776-1800, Westward Expansion, 1790-1850
Removal Era: Indians Make Way for Expansion
The Removal Era is one of the most controversial and troubling periods of American history.
Entry Type: Articles - Groups & Organizations
Related Eras: Westward Expansion, 1790-1850

My Profile

Profile Image
Burns Library * April Hannah
Contact Info
Send Email
 

Pushmataha: Choctaw Leader

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip