This is the "Find an Identity: Ways to look for topics" page of the "Mr. Ammon's US History: American (Cultural) Identity" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mr. Ammon's US History: American (Cultural) Identity  

Last Updated: Apr 8, 2011 URL: http://loyolahs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=170010 Print Guide RSS Updates

Find an Identity: Ways to look for topics Print Page
  Search: 
 

What or Who do I Look for?

Ok, so you are supposed to do research about early Americans during 1776-1876.  Here are some of the ways you can get started on finding a topic:

1.  Look in your textbook or other class materials that will give you ideas for groups; like native Americans, slaves, women, or the entitled citizens known as landowners, politians, farmers, merchants, tradesmen, etc.

2.  Look at online search directories like Google or Yahoo.  Below are links to Yahoo and Google that list directory topics. These may help you to decide on a topic then search in our online databases (see box to the right).

3.  If you have trouble finding books in our library, you should also try your local public library or one of the four university libraries that allow borrowing privileges to our AP/Honors students.  If you are in any AP or Honors class, you qualify--please ask us how to get access to these libraries.  Listed below are web addresses of the major public library systems in our area.

Los Angeles Public Library

You can check the online catalog for books in the main and branch libraries as well as use their free databases with your library card number.

County of Los Angeles Public Library

This is the page for online databases for LA County Library.  On the home page, you will also find the catalog search in the upper left corner.

Pasadena Public Library

Look for the catalog and other services.

Long Beach Public Library

Look for catalog and databases.

Orange County Public Libraries

Database Research

1.  The database passwords can be found by logging into Cubview, go to Burns Library group page at  http://cubview.loyolahs.edu/pg/groups/143509/fritz-b-burns-library/   "Group Files."  While you are at it, join our group!

2.  Search these databases for historical background regarding US History. 

  • GALE Infotrac
    Go to the "US History in Context" link then look under topics or search through "biographies," a specific era or event. Essentially, start the search broad then narrow it down to people or groups of interest.
  • EBSCO
    Go to "Student Research Center" then click on "History" on the left frame. On the next screen, enter "american identity" in the find line above. There should be several articles, just make sure you narrow them down according to the time period of 1776-1876. You may have to try a few different search terms to get what you are looking for.
  • Salem Press History (United States)
    After logging in, you can try combining search terms like "colonial women" to get some interesting articles or documents.
 

Video: Revolutionary War Era

Very interesting, multi-part video about some of the common people in the American Revolutionary War.

My Profile

Profile Image
Burns Library * April Hannah
Contact Info
Send Email

Son of Citation Machine

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip