This is the "Alan Paton" page of the "Ms. Jardine English III: Spring Research Paper" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Ms. Jardine English III: Spring Research Paper  

Cry, the Beloved Country, by Alan Paton. 1984, by George Orwell. Oliver Twist or Hard Times, by Charles Dickens. The Merchant of Venice, by William Shakespeare.
Last Updated: Mar 26, 2012 URL: http://loyolahs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=193375 Print Guide RSS Updates

Alan Paton Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in Our Library

Search our Library Catalog for books:https://loyolahsburns.follettdestiny.com/cataloging/servlet/presentadvancedsearchredirectorform.do?l2m=Library%20Search

Readings on Cry the Beloved Country
Call Number: 923 CRY
1 Copy is out. 1 Copy on Reserve.

Contemporary Literary Criticism (CLC)
Call Number: R 809.04 CON
Articles about Alan Paton appear in the following four volumes of this Reference book: v.4, v.10, v.25, v.55.

Apartheid in South Africa
Call Number: 305.8 BUS
May be on Reserve for all to use.

South Africa is State of Apartheid
Call Number: 968 COT
May be on Reserve for all to use.

Databases and Websites

The database passwords can be found by logging into Cubview and going to the Burns Library group page at  http://cubview.loyolahs.edu/pg/groups/143509/fritz-b-burns-library/    Look for the database link near the center of the page. When you click, it will make you sign in to Cubview, then you can access the databases from the password links. Or, you can print the password list then just use the links on this page.  If this does not work for you for some reason, please email me, Mrs. April Hannah at ahannah@loyolahs.edu or else pick up a blue flyer from the library.

  • Bloom's Literary Criticism (Burns Library Database)
    After logging in, enter this phrase "alan paton social change." On the list, eight criticism articles will come up.
  • JSTOR (Burns Library Database)
    Once you log-in, go to Advanced Search then enter with quotes, "cry the beloved country" AND "social change" on the second line. The list of results will all be critical articles regarding Alan Paton's views as presented in the novel. Perhaps you will agree with either Paton or the critics of his work.
  • EBSCO Magill On Literature Plus (Burns Library Database)
    After log-in you will see four links, choose "Magill On Literature Plus." In the search line near top of page, enter the keywords "merchant of venice." Scan the summaries.
  • ABC-Clio Social Studies (History Database Suite)
    After logging in, choose the database for "World History: Modern..."
    In the search line in, in upper right corner, enter "apartheid" to get some background on the history of this social and governmental change that occurred at the time Paton's novel was written.
 

Cry the Beloved Country

A student's impression of Cry, the Beloved Country.

My Profile

Profile Image
Burns Library * April Hannah
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip