This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Mr. Ammon U.S. History: Economy Essay" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mr. Ammon U.S. History: Economy Essay  

Last Updated: Jun 6, 2012 URL: http://loyolahs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=331320 Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Books in Our Library

You may search our Online Catalog here to search for books about our history with economic crises. 

Try going to the "Power Search" tab on our catalog and enter "united states"  AND  "economic"  You should see a list of 101 entries of books in our catalog.

Listed below are books in the Reference and Non-Fiction sections.

Encyclopedia of the U.S. in 20th Century, volume 3 (Economy) - Stanley I. Kutler, editor.
Call Number: R 973 ENC V.3
In this one volume, there are chapters on Taxation, Infrastructure, Conservation, Economic Thought and Policies, and examples of economic crises throughout United States history.

American Decades - Victor Bondi, editor
Call Number: R 973.92 AME (volumes by decades)
Especially take a look at volume 4 (1930-1939) for some in-depth discussions on the New Deal and financial issues involving the Great Depresssion and the economy of the era. Be sure to look in the index for more specific topics.

Database Research

The database passwords can be found by logging into Cubview, go to Burns Library group page at  http://cubview.loyolahs.edu/pg/groups/143509/fritz-b-burns-library/   Toward the bottom of Burns Library Cubview page, look for link, RESEARCH DATABASES.  As long as you are logged in, you can click on link and the passwords will show up as well as the embedded database links.  

ABC-Clio Social Studies : After log-in, click on Database Link called, "AMERICAN HISTORY."  In the "Quick Search" box in upper right corner, enter the my example search or your own topic like this "economic crises."  There will be several journal, periodical, and or reference articles for you to use. Make sure look at the 3rd article in results list: "Origins of a Global Crisis" This is a good overview of recent historical crises. Then try out some of your own keywords in order to find more examples of historical crises.

JSTOR  Log-in, create a "My JSTOR Account," and repeat the search you performed in the previous database or wait until you have decided which economic / financial crises or historical era you are searching. You need to have a good plan before you begin searching this database.

  • EBSCO History Reference Center
    After login, click on "History Reference Center." Go to Advanced Search then type, "economic history" and before you enter, look at the Search Options box below. Try choosing the following limiters:
    Timeline: New Century
    Lexile Read Level: Grades 9-12
    This will get most relevent articles and you can try changing the limiters to different timelines, etc.

My Profile

Profile Image
Burns Library * April Hannah
Contact Info
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip