This is the "Research Possible Topics" page of the "Mr. Ammon U.S. History: The Gilded Age" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Mr. Ammon U.S. History: The Gilded Age  

Last Updated: Mar 22, 2013 URL: http://loyolahs.libguides.com/content.php?pid=448045 Print Guide RSS Updates
Research Possible Topics Print Page
  Search: 
 

What or Who do I Look for?

Use our Online Library Catalog here: https://loyolahsburns.follettdestiny.com/common/welcome.jsp?context=saas15_0402998

1. While there are some books on a cart for your class in the library, there may be more on the shelves depending upon the topic or concentration you decide upon. We have reference books as well as books that may be checked out.  Remember, you are looking at the late 19th century and turn of the 20th century.  Other terms we use to describe this era are "Gilded Age," "Progressive Era," "Industrial Revolution," etc.  

2.  Look in the indexes of general books, to find a more narrow topic.

3.  If you have trouble finding books in our library, you should also try your local public library or one of the four university libraries that allow borrowing privileges to our AP/Honors students.  If you are in any AP or Honors class, you qualify--please ask us how to get access to these libraries.  Listed below are web addresses of the major public library systems in our area.

Los Angeles Public Library

You can check the online catalog for books in the main and branch libraries as well as use their free databases with your library card number.

County of Los Angeles Public Library

This is the page for online databases for LA County Library.  On the home page, you will also find the catalog search in the upper left corner.

Pasadena Public Library

Look for the catalog and other services.

Long Beach Public Library

Look for catalog and databases.

Orange County Public Libraries

Database Research

1.  The database passwords can be found by logging into Cubview, go to Burns Library http://cubview.loyolahs.edu/class/398

2.   Then click on the Database Passwords File on the left frame.  You must be logged into Cubview with your correct, LHS email account in order to download the file.

3.  Search the databases for historical background regarding US History. 

  • JSTOR
    1. After you log-in, click on the Picture advertising Beta Search.
    2. Try typing in any of these search queries:
    America Gilded Age
    America Progressive Era
    America Industrial Revolution
    3. Refine your search on the left frame and check-off the following:
    "Only Content I can Access" and
    "Research Articles" for Content Type.
    4. You can also try narrower concepts such as:
    Industrial child labor
    Women labor history
    Immigrant labor
  • EBSCO
    Go to "Student Research Center" then any of the following search queries, or your own search phrases:
    America industrial revolution
    America Gilded Age
    America Progressive Era

My Profile

Profile Image
Burns Library * April Hannah
Contact Info
Send Email

Son of Citation Machine

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip